~~~~~~~RAOB GLE in Swaffham Norfolk ~~~~~~~ Royal Elizabethan Lodge No. 8654

The Market Town of Norfolk


Welcome to the Webb Site of the Royal Elizabethan Lodge

The Royal Elizabethan Lodge No. 8654 holds its meetings in the Conservative Club, London Road Swaffham. Meetings are held on alternate Tuesdays through-out the year starting at 8pm.

 All visitors are most welcome and can be assured of a hearty Buffalo welcome to this small but friendly lodge in the centre of West Norfolk. Should you require any further information regarding meetings of the Royal Elizabethan Lodge or joining the RAOB you can contact our City Secretary, Bro. Denys Winner KOM on;

 Telephone: (01485) 520598 or E Mail him at:- denys.winner@btinternet.com

 Lodge History

 The Elizabethan Lodge as it was then named opened on the 10th March 1954 meeting at the Crown Inn East Rudham, the founding members as listed on the dispensation were:

Bro. Richard Nunn     ROH          Mother Lodge    Alhambra No. 4704

Bro. George Brunsdon KOM                                    Lancaster 6579

Bro. Cecil Porter CP                                                   Victory 7631

Bro. Eric Barber CP                                                   Royal Baghdad 3647

 Also in attendance were 16 other Brothers who at the inaugral meeting affiliated to the Elizabethan Lodge. As with a lot of the Norfolk Lodges in 1954 a high majority of the Brothers were serving members of the Royal Air Force based either at RAF West Raynham or RAF Marham nearby RAF Units.

The first Initiation to be carried out in the Elizabethan Lodge was on the 2nd April 1954 when four Brothers were initiated into the Order; Bros' Wilfred Sleigh, Andrew Dumas, Roy Graver & Thomas Lee. History of the Order also tells us that on the 30th March 1956  Bro Pruitt Fowler. an American Serviceman was Initiated into the Lodge & Order.

  In the 1970's the Elizabethan Lodge led a nomadic existance meeting at numerous venues in the district until the 28th February 1980 when it finally settled at the Black Swann in Little Dunham, where it continued to thrive. It was during this period at the Black Swann that Bro Roy Summers ROH, Grand Primo 1970 affiliated to the Elizabethan Lodge.

The Lodge remained at the Black Swann until 28th February 1985 when due to a change of landlords it moved to the Chequers in Sporle . It continued meeting here until it was forced into a temporary closure with the closing of the Chequers in July 1987 and no other venue available. Members continued to search for a new home and in June 1988 the lodge re-opened in its current home, the Conservative Club Swaffham. It is whilst it has been at the Conservative Club that the Iceni Lodge  amalgamated with the Elizabethan Lodge in April 1990 and the Royal Oak on the 1st October 2009. Consequent to the amalgamation with the Royal Oak Lodge came the name change to the Royal Elizabethan Lodge.

The Lodge continues to thrive with many of its Brothers being active members of the King's Lynn & District PGL, ROH Assembly and Knights Chapter.

Edit Text

Lodge Members January 2010

Lodge Trustees
Bros' Denys Winner KOM - Fred Forrest ROH - Chas Hodges



Web Master: Bro Walter L Rogers ROH


GLE Provinces

King's Lynn PGL

Gosport PGL Hampshire

Hereford PGL

RAOB International

Click here to E Mail the Web Master